52 Weeks of Color Challenge – Periwinkle

“Mama said there’ll be days like this, There’ll be days like this my Mama said” – lyrics from “Mama Said” by the Shirelles

Even though this song is about getting your heart broken by a boy it seemed to fit the mood today. Kaiden has had her perwinkle pictures done since this morning and has known all week what she wanted. Me…I had nada.

That was my mood this morning. Frustrated, inspiration-less and wanting to just stay in a ball with just my semi-periwinkle boots on. I was desperately resisting the urge to do something darling or adorable. I can’t help it but pastel colors make me want to be cute and sweet! I was tempted to leave that as my blog post for this week. Hey, if Luna managed to do banana mania with almost nothing on I could do periwinkle the same way right? All my parts are covered so it would work…but I couldn’t leave it like that.  And after tping from store to store and listening to the girls chat away in the group,  inspiration hit me.

So I’m kinda excited that I did it! I have conquered Periwinkle! I think I need to treat myself now. Hopefully there’s nothing periwinkle colored in my fridge. =/ Now onto whichever food color Luna chooses next.

And here’s a little fun facts for you trivia buffs:
Crayola first introduced their periwinkle crayon in 1949 in the 48 pack. It’s ranked as America’s 7th favorite color.
Also, as I learned today periwinkle is a type of snail that Brits eat. (gags a little) I knew it was a flower. I used to pick them when I was a little girl and suck the nectar out of them. Looking back I’m not sure that was the best thing to do but it was so yummy!
❤ Ayako

The Look:
Skin: LAQ – Maria
Shirt: :Mashooka: – Blossom Blouse – Periwinkle
Skirt: {Happy} – Cheeky Minx skirt- Charcoal
Boots: ALEIDA – Moshi Ankle Boots – Violet
Earrings: Earthstones – Bali Crescent Jewelry set
Poses: Diesel Works

14 thoughts on “52 Weeks of Color Challenge – Periwinkle

  1. I know how you feel! I kept porting around the grid eyeing anything pale blue or light lilac with ‘is that periwinkle?’, squinting at the vendors and trying to compare them to Luna’s swatch and everything was always just a little off! Stupid colour! …in the end I just went with what I liked most from my ‘closest matches’ options and decided to be happy with it, dammit.

    Oh, and your top is cute!

  2. I know what you meant. My problem was I couldnt find anything I liked in the shops except for a perwinkle bathtub I saw on SLMarketplace..LOL. But after a few sighs, and while the group chat was inspiring me as it was you, I started scrolling my inventory. LOL.

    You look beautiful BTW, and heyy, I like the “boots only” shot =)

  3. Great post. And we seem to have had somewhat of the same ordeal to go through with the periwinkle sweetness temptation. Thanks for your comment on my post

Leave a Reply

